My Sweet-Bitter Childhood

                                                                                                                      

I still remember that rainy day when I came home from school terribly upset and scared of my mom because i managed to score only 10 on 50 in my half-yearly mathematics examinations( Indian education system anyway sucks).For once I thought of giving the diary (on which my mathematics teacher wrote my marks and asked me to get it signed) to my friend but then I remembered the previous case when I did the similar thing to hide my quarterly marks and my mom asked me to go to my friend’s house and get back my diary..!! uuf….! It was so tiring..! I thought its best to say that I left my diary in the school.

 I was hoping not to be questioned about my marks but bless my luck, before I could keep that heavy piece of junk from my exhausted shoulders I was asked by my mom if there was any copy shown in the class. I tried my level best not to let her see my diary but she peeped into by bag and bang..!!!! From there on I remember nothing but just heavy military
grenades being bombarded on my soft cheeks. Well, this wasn’t the end of the endless drama. Normally after all this torture that my mom did to me, it used to be my turn to get mom some scoldings from my dad…:D But this day was a bit different. I ran hard to reach to the telephone and make a call to my dad but I suddenly realized that my feet were above the ground and I was flying. Oh no..!!! Its my mom who got me first, pulled me and locked me in my room for the entire evening. I was not allowed to go out and play with my friends that evening. Sitting alone in my room I was crying and suddenly I heard my mom talking to my dad in a very low tone regarding my marks. She was upset. I realized that she was more hurt than me throughout this drama. All she wants is to see me successful . But still I was angry because I wasn’t allowed to go out and play( that’s certainly me being kiddish :D). With all these  thoughts running in my mind I just fell asleep.

Suddenly, I heard the horn on my dad’s car and I started banging the door harshly (almost hurting my tiny little wrist) and asked my mom to let me come out. My mom opened the door and suddenly I had all the strengths to face her eye to eye. I came down running towards my dad (who was then taking his office bag out his car’s back seat) and started complaining about my mom. I repeatedly demanded my dad to slap my mom as she slapped me infinite times for such a tiny reason.  Suddenly I could sense the change in the tone of my mom and she was loving me with those generous hands which I felt like iron rods a few hours back..! She hugged me and kissed me. It felt great to me. After all mom is mom..!!  I
asked my dad to take me out for a ride as mom didn’t allow me to go out and play today. My dad cheerfully said OK and Me and my DADasked me to wipe out my tears and get ready.Then taking the advantage of the situation I added another tiny little request to my dad and asked him to buy me new stationary.:D  I thought when in the world I will get such an opportunity again, let’s make full use of it. But I realized that my feet were again above the ground and I was flying..!! Oh god not again..! This time its my dad..! I still remember very clearly, he said “ Anyways you got 10 marks and you have 10 demands popping up…how about I ask your mom to give you 10 more of those military grenades?” 😀  I didn’t utter a word and went quickly to the bathroom to get ready or else I will miss this ride too.

Today I miss those old sweet memories and I really wish I could go back in time, but then I realize how long will I ask my dad to take me for a ride? My mom used to scold me on every single thing now loves me the most in this world. Today I have to eat food in my hostel mess I miss those delicious dishes she used to prepare exclusively for me.Its only now I have realized that she is the one who  worries about me the most.  It’s not required to say that I love my mom and dad more than anyone in this world.I believe its time now that I become the guardian of my parents and fulfill there every wish as they have been doing without any hesitation and with utmost love.

Murtaza Alamshah

6 thoughts on “My Sweet-Bitter Childhood

  1. It is strange how the moment creeps up on us – when the child suddenly becomes the carer. It still feels strange to me and I try very hard not to resent the questions – knowing that they come from concern.

  2. Hello Murtaza Alamshah I got to say you are a great story teller and amazing writer. I miss my childhood too. ”  Suddenly I could sense the change in the tone of my mom and she was loving me with those generous hands which I felt like iron rods a few hours back..! She hugged me and kissed me. It felt great to me. After all mom is mom..!! ” I just qoute you. Nice post Murtaza.

Leave a Reply

